The AIA Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession. Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of the architect as an individual, but also honors before the public and the profession a model architect who has made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.

To be eligible, you must be an AIA architect member in good standing for at least 10 cumulative (not consecutive) years. There are five categories in which exceptional contributions may be awarded fellowship. They include:

  1. Design, Urban Design, or Preservation: To promote the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession through design, urban design, or preservation.
  2. Education, Research, Literature, or Practice: To advance the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training, and practice.
  3. Led the Institute, Led a Related Organization: To coordinate the building industry and the profession of architecture through cooperatively leading the Institute or a related professional organization.
  4. Public Service, Government Industry or Organization: To ensure the advancement of the living standards of people through their improved environment, via public service or work in government or industry organizations.
  5. Alternative Career, Volunteer Work with Organizations Not Directly Connected with the Built Environment, or Service to Society: To make the profession of ever-increasing service to society through alternative careers or volunteer work.

For more information such as frequently asked questions and nomination information please go to www.aia.org/practicing/awards/AIASO75320. We look forward to your nominations!


FAIA Members

Fellowships is an extraordinary Achievement, here are some of our members that have achieved FAIA status.

  • Clyde A. Brady, III, FAIA
  • Chuck S. Braun, FAIA
  • Arthur L. Burns, FAIA
  • L. William Chapin, II, FAIA
  • John P. Ehrig, FAIA
  • James A Greene, FAIA
  • Alan C. Helman, FAIA
  • C T. Hsu, FAIA
  • Michael LeBoeuf, FAIA
  • Michael Lingerfelt, FAIA
  • John Maudlin-Jeronimo, FAIA
  • Tom Lewis, Jr., FAIA
  • Robert D. Miller, FAIA
  • I S K Reeves V, FAIA
  • Johnstone N. Reid, Jr., FAIA
  • Jack Rogers, FAIA
  • Chuck Cole, FAIA
  • William J. Hercules, FAIA
  • Dan Kirby, FAIA
  • Debra A. Lupton FAIA